If the back up was made before your current theme configuration, then you’ll lose the changes that were made, but if you created the back up after the theme modifications then you’re safe to restore it.
We suggest you to create a back up of the theme configuration you have now and update the theme. After that replace the theme files with the ones you made changes to.
Regards,
Eva Kemp.